Music while writing

I don’t know about other writers, but for me when I’m writing music is important.

When I’m not writing, I listen to a much different selection than I do when I am writing. I am very musically diverse though. I often listen to industrial as my music of choice, as well as a few heavy metal bands.

Examples include, but are not limited to: Skinny Puppy, Angelspit, CombiChrist, MSI, Ministry, NIN, Otep, Godsmack and Gwar.

When I am writing though, my choice of music either reflects my mood, or attempts to enhance what I am feeling while I am writing.

This story has been pretty emotional and very heavy in spots. The music I have listened to nearly the entire time has reflected that completely. I have listened to four artists nearly the whole time.

Florence and the Machine. She put it well when Florence Welch said: “Sex, violence, love, death, are the topics that I’m constantly wrestling with, it’s all connected back to religion.” A lot of people don’t recognize that these topics are often the subject of their music. It fits very well with my story.

Lana Del Ray. Her stuff is DARK. Very fitting. Not sure what more to say about that, lol.

Yuki Kajiura. Specifically I’ve been listening to the Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika soundtracks from the TV series and the newest movie: the Rebellion story. The music is really well done, and has a good mix of light and dark moods.

I’ve put the three mentioned above in a playlist and listen to it often while writing my story.

One more worth mentioning though is Audiomachine. I play them when I’m doing battle scenes. Their stuff is hard driven and intense. It is really easy to envision a mass battle occurring while I listen to them.

To me, the right music for what I am writing is very important. It helps me set my mood, and enhances my visual imagination of what is occurring.

How important is the right music to you when you are writing?

Leave a Reply

